ASPIRE Festival Artistic Co-Directors Sarah-Grace Williams and Sean O’Boyle along with everyone else in the ASPIRE team are proud to officially announce the set pieces for the 2019 July event.

Set pieces were carefully selected by the ASPIRE team to provide ensembles a rewarding yet challenging competitive environment as they ultimately vie for a top three place and a performance spot at the ASPIRE Gala Finale Concert.

Each participating ensemble is allocated a maximum 15-minute performance time to perform the set piece/s allocated by ASPIRE Festival Artistic Co-Directors Sarah-Grace Williams and Sean O’Boyle in addition to their own chosen piece. N.B. Up to two chosen pieces may be performed as long as both pieces as well as the set piece/s do not exceed the overall performance time.

With just under a year until the performance starts the focus is now all about participation and raising the aspirations of all students who take part.

2019 Set Pieces

Below are the set pieces chosen for ASPIRE 2019.


Concert Band set piece: Duration 5:30

Chorale and Toccata by Jack Stamp



Jazz Band set piece: Duration 7:00

Blue Monk by Thelonious Monk arr. Mark Taylor



Symphony Orchestra set piece: Duration 4:00
Hungarian Dance no. 6
 by Johannes Brahms / arr. Albert Parlow

String Orchestra set piece: Duration 5:30

Winds Through Time: Washington Port by Deborah Baker Monday


SSA, SATB, TTB Choirs set pieces: Total duration 5:30 (2:30 + 3:00)

Festival Sanctus by John Leavitt (Piano Accompaniment)


Cry Me a River Words and music by Arthur Hamilton / arr. Jay Althouse (Piano Accompaniment)